Two St. Johns County Students Awarded Fellowships by the St. Johns Cultural Council

Each year the St. Johns Cultural Council awards its Junior ROWITA fellowship to high school Seniors in St. Johns County who have excelled in visual, performing, or literary arts. This fellowship – funded by generous donors to the Cultural Council – provides financial support for continued education in the arts.

This year’s Junior ROWITA honorees are:

Kyra Ellis

Kyra is a visual artist at Nease High School and creates both 2D and 3D works, one of which is included in the current St. Augustine Art Association St. Johns All-County High School Art Show. Though she wants to make a name for herself as an artist, she feels her true calling is to be an art teacher and help children learn that art is an extension of themselves.

She plans to attend Western Carolina University to further her knowledge and experience with creating and teaching art.

gracia romaine

Gracia Romaine

Gracia has been involved with theater since an early age, but only recently decided she wanted to pursue acting as a career. This year she wrote, directed, and choreographed a one-act play that received the highest score of eighteen schools competing at the Florida District 2 One Act Festival. She has performed on large and small stages in lead, supporting, and ensemble roles.

She plans to continue her theater studies at the University of Florida in the Fall.

St. Johns Cultural Council congratulates this year’s Fellowship winners. The Junior ROWITA program is affiliated with the annual ROWITA – “Recognizing Outstanding Women in the Arts” – Awards founded by Dr. Gail Pflaster. Darien Andreu, Gwendolyn Duncan, and Michelle Robideaux-Pent are the 2024 ROWITA Honorees.

A recognition event for the ROWITA and Junior ROWITA honorees is scheduled at The Waterworks on Saturday, March 23 at 2 PM.

RSVP to attend the ROWITA event.

Visit to learn more about Junior ROWITA and ROWITA.