Each year the St. Johns Cultural Council recognizes women who have profoundly influenced the artistic environment of St. Johns County with the Dr. Gail Pflaster ROWITA (“Recognizing Outstanding Women in the Arts”) Awards.

Members of the community are encouraged to submit nominations of women who have made significant contributions to the arts in St. Johns County through their work, leadership, or philanthropic support.

The nominee’s impact on the cultural community is the most important criteria for determining the final selections. Visual, literary, and performance artists, educators, presenters, and philanthropic supporters of the arts are eligible for the award. Past nominees who have not been selected are also eligible to be re-nominated.

Nominations may be submitted electronically between November 1st and December 31st of each year.

The digital applications include contact information about yourself as the nominator, as well as basic information about the nominee and narratives where the nominator can expand on the nominee’s impact in St. Johns County. Please be sure to include all supporting material that is necessary, this may consist of media articles or letters of support from other community members. Nomination applications must be submitted in full for consideration.

The 2024 ROWITA Nomination period has closed. Please contact [email protected] with any questions regarding the ROWITA program.

2024 ROWITA Recipients

St. Johns Cultural Council congratulates each of this year’s award winners. We are grateful for their important, lasting contributions to arts and culture on the Historic Coast.

Click here for all of the past ROWITA winners’ bios.